2014-15 CIF-SS Academic Award Winners

LOS ALAMITOS — The winners of the annual CIF Southern Section-Ford Academic Awards program were announced at the CIF-SS Office today.

The team awards, based on a cumulative grade point average, are awarded in 22 sports. Entries from 1,787 teams were received this year. Twenty-five different schools are represented among the 44 team winners. San Marcos High School led the way with 7 different teams topping the academic lists.

The annual academic awards program is sponsored by the Southern California FORD Dealers with assistance from the Los Angles Angels of Anaheim.

To be considered, teams must have a minimum 3.0 GPA average (4.0 scale) in college-prep courses in the first semester of the 2014-15 school year. The highest team GPA in each sport determines the winner. Schools are divided into two enrollment categories, 1500 and above and 1499 and below. The team with the highest GPA in each enrollment category for each sport receives the award. The first place teams receive a banner to commemorate their achievement. All teams who participate receive Academic Award certificates for their student athletes.

Additionally, 1,766 student-athletes have each been named the individual “Student-Athlete of the Year” by their school. Each CIF-SS member school is entitled to name a male and a female “Student-Athlete- of-the Year” that must be a senior having maintained a minimum of a 3.5 GPA (4.0 scale) in college-prep courses over the past three years, in addition to earning a letter in at least one varsity sport and participating in extracurricular activities (music, drama, service groups, etc.).

As part of the Academic Awards program, the Woman’s Southern California Golf Association (WSCGA) annually recognizes the top three Girl’s Golf academic teams in each enrollment category with financial grants. This year’s WSCGA grant receiving teams are Ayala, Webb, San Juan Hills, Fairmount Prep, Santa Ana Valley and Poly/Pasadena.

The academic team winners and golf grant recipients will be honored in a pre-game ceremony before the April 22 Angels game vs. the Oakland Athletics.

A complete list of award winners follows.

Published under: