

10932 PINE ST. LOS ALAMITOS, CA 90720 (562)493-9500

WWW.CIFSS.ORG

THOM SIMMONS

ASSISTANT COMMISSIONER THOMS@CIFSS.ORG

TAYLOR MARTINEZ

COMMUNICATIONS COORDINATOR TAYLORM@CIFSS.ORG

PRESS RELEASE

CALIFORNIA INTERSCHOLASTIC FEDERATION - SOUTHERN SECTION

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PRESS RELEASE: #4 RELEASE DATE: September 13, 2024

19th DR. JIM STAUNTON CHAMPIONS FOR CHARACTER AWARDS

LOS ALAMITOS, CA - On Monday, September 23, 2024, the California Interscholastic Federation-Southern Section (CIF-SS) is proud to host its 19th Dr. Jim Staunton Champions for Character Awards Dinner at The Grand in Long Beach. You can visit www.cifss.org for more information.

Twenty-one years ago, the State CIF and all 10 sections partnered to promote the 16 principles of coaching, competing and teaching called "Pursuing Victory with Honor." Since that time, we have seen school boards, superintendents, principals, athletic directors, athletic trainers, media members, officials and students embrace these principles to give our athletes tools for success on the playing field and in life.

To recognize those student-athletes that can combine a fierce competitive nature with the Six Pillars of Character; trustworthiness, responsibility, respect, fairness, caring and citizenship; the CIF-SS Ethics in Sports Committee created these awards. Athletes, coaches, administrators, officials, schools' athletic trainers and media members who demonstrate these qualities are honored at the dinner and highlighted for their achievements. Additionally, all student winners receive scholarship money for their achievements.

"The Champions for Character awards recognition is one of my favorite things we do each year," stated CIF Southern Section Commissioner of Athletics, Mike West. "I feel honored that we have the platform to recognize both students and adults alike for the character, sportsmanship and ethical behavior they demonstrate daily. It is important that we recognize not just those who win championships but also those who do their best and are positive role models in their community," added West.

Media members interested in covering the awards ceremony must RSVP by email to Taylor Martinez (taylorm@cifss.org) no later than Noon Wednesday, September 18.

ABOUT THE CIF-SS

The CIF-SS is a non-profit corporation organized to direct and administer athletics in secondary schools within its membership and geographical boundaries. The Southern Section is one of 10 sections in the state of California. Not only is it the largest in the state (representing nearly one half of the state's high schools – 562 schools), but it is the 10th largest association of its type nationally. Each of the state sections operate independently, but all within the framework of the state federation.





10932 PINE ST. LOS ALAMITOS, CA 90720 (562)493-9500

WWW.CIFSS.ORG

THOM SIMMONS

ASSISTANT COMMISSIONER THOMS@CIFSS.ORG

TAYLOR MARTINEZ

COMMUNICATIONS COORDINATOR TAYLORM@CIFSS.ORG

2023-2024 CIF Southern Section Champions for Character Award Recipients

<u>STUDENTS</u>

- Lorig Artinian Mesrobian HS
- Calliope Baise Edgewood HS
- Daniela Borruel Sunny Hills HS
- Ysabella Hinojosa Northview HS
- Madden Iamaleava Warren HS
- Austin Johnson St. Jeanne de Lestonnac HS
- Diana Citlali Morales-Robledo Garey HS
- Manaia Ogbechie Oaks Christian HS
- Aden Pawlowicz San Gorgonio HS

<u>COACHES</u>

- Ryan Bateman, Football Santa Fe HS
- Charlie Breneman, Boys Soccer Edison HS
- Gordon Hamlow, Boys Basketball Glendora HS
- Trevor Holton, Softball Fullerton Union HS
- Jason Lowe, Boys Wrestling Canyon Springs HS
- Keith Nighswonger, Boys & Girls Water Polo Sunny Hills HS
- Jenevieve Nixon, Boys and Girls Volleyball Godinez HS
- Joel Perttula, Boys and Girls Tennis Oaks Christian HS
- Robert Torribio, Boys Basketball Newport Harbor HS
- Mike Wadley, Girls Volleyball Lakewood HS

ADMINISTRATORS

- Marlon Archey, Athletic Director St. Genevieve HS
- Eric Bergmann, Principal Thousand Oaks HS
- Tami Krueger, Activities Director Martin Luther King HS
- Tom Salter, Athletic Director Culver City HS
- Andy Sulick, President Santa Margarita HS

ATHLETIC TRAINERS

- Cesar Garza Saddleback HS
- Ahmad Paden Thousand Oaks HS

OFFICIALS

- Larry Clark Volleyball
- Bryan Speer Volleyball & Basketball

<u>MEDIA</u>

- Eliav Appelbaum The Acorn, Thousand Oaks
- Alan Ko The Thousand Oaks Lancer

<u>SCHOOLS</u>

- Sunny Hills High School
- Thousand Oaks High School

COMMISSIONER'S AWARD – California Sports Hall of Fame Scholarship

- Jackson Taylor Thousand Oaks
- Corrine Kalogonis Canyon Springs HS

