

10932 PINE ST. LOS ALAMITOS, CA 90720 (562)493-9500

WWW.CIFSS.ORG

THOM SIMMONS

ASSISTANT COMMISSIONER
THOMS@CIFSS.ORG

TAYLOR MARTINEZ

COMMUNICATIONS COORDINATOR TAYLORM@CIFSS.ORG

PRESS RELEASE

CALIFORNIA INTERSCHOLASTIC FEDERATION - SOUTHERN SECTION

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PRESS RELEASE: #3
RELEASE DATE: 7/23/24
REVISED: 7/24/24

CIF SOUTHERN SECTION ANNOUNCES 31ST YEAR OF COMMISSIONER'S CUP CHAMPIONS

LOS ALAMITOS, CA – The CIF Southern Section is proud to announce the top girl's and boy's athletic programs during the 2023-2024 school year. This marks the 31st year the CIF-SS has honored schools with the Commissioner's Cup.

On the girl's side, JSerra took first place with a total of 35 points, with championship titles in lacrosse, basketball, volleyball, cross country and track & field; and took runners-up in water polo.

Santa Margarita took 2nd place by scoring a total of 18 points and prevailing on a tiebreaker.

Santa Margarita won championship titles in golf and swimming & diving; and were finalist in soccer and cross country.

On the boy's side, Notre Dame of Sherman Oaks took 1st place with a total of 19 points, with championship titles in basketball and tennis. They were also runners-up in lacrosse, track & field, and golf.

Harvard-Westlake took runner-up honors by scoring a total of 16 points but finished second overall due to a tie-breaker. The Wolverines took a championship title in basketball. They were finalists in baseball.

This recognition program is based upon comprehensive excellence in the CIF Southern Section athletic competition for both the boys' and girls' sports. The purpose of this event is to enhance the spirit of competition, sportsmanship, and goodwill among student-athletes and member schools.

"We applaud the accomplishments of these programs due to their hard work and dedication that has resulted in their success," said Mike West, Commissioner of Athletics. "This competition involves the entire athletic programs at our member schools and recognizes overall excellence throughout the 2023-2024 school year," added West.

Winners have been determined by a point system which provides: five points for a divisional championship; three points for a divisional runner up; two points for advancing to the semifinal round or a third-place finish on a team place-finish sport (i.e., cross country, golf, swimming & diving, and track & field); and one point for a fourth-place finish in a team place-finish sport. In cases where a tie occurred, several methods were used to determine the top 10 schools.



10932 PINE ST. LOS ALAMITOS, CA 90720 (562)493-9500

WWW.CIFSS.ORG

THOM SIMMONS

ASSISTANT COMMISSIONER THOMS@CIFSS.ORG

TAYLOR MARTINEZ

COMMUNICATIONS COORDINATOR TAYLORM@CIFSS.ORG

2023-2024 CIF SOUTHERN SECTION COMMISSIONER'S CUP FINAL POINTS

BOYS

PL	SCHOOL	POINT ACCUMULATION	PTS
1.	Notre Dame/Sherman Oaks	5 (BK) 5(T) 3(LAX) 3(G) 3(TF)	19
2.	Harvard-Westlake	5(BK) 3(BB) 2(G) 2(S) 2(T) 2(WP)	16
3.	Mira Costa	5(LAX) 3(FB) 3(VB) 2(WP) 2(S)	15*
4.	El Segundo	5(WP) 5(T) 3(BK) 2(LAX)	15*
5.	Foothill	5(T) 3(S) 3(TF) 2(LAX), 2(WP)	15*
6.	Corona del Mar	5(G) 3(FB) 3(T) 2(BK) 2(WP)	14*
7.	Servite	5(S) 3(FB) 2(VB) 2(G), 2(W)	14*
8.	Huntington Beach	5(WP) 2(BB) 2(FB) 2(LAX) 2(VB)	13*
9.	Bell Gardens	5(FB) 5(W) 3(S)	13*
10.	Loyola	5(VB) 3(SD) 3(LAX), 2(S)	13*

GIRLS

PL	SCHOOL	POINT ACCUMULATION	PTS
1.	JSerra Catholic	5(BK) 5(LAX) 5(VB) 5(TF), 5(CC); 3(WP)	35
		2(BVB); 2(S); 2(SB) 1(SD)	
2.	Santa Margarita	5(G) 5(SD), 3(S) 2(BK) 3(CC)	18*
3.	Santiago/Corona	5(CC), 5(S) 3(BK) 2(LAX), 2(WP) 1(TF)	18*
4.	Mira Costa	5(BVB) 2(LAX) 3(VB), 3(SD)	15*
5.	Mater Dei	5(VB) 3(WP 3(T) 2(BK), 2(SB)	15*
6.	Palos Verdes	5(BK) 3(S) 3(WP) 2(T) 1(CC)	14
7.	Orange Lutheran	5(WP) 3(VB) 3(SB) 2(BK)	13
8.	Etiwanda	5(BK) 5(SB) 2(S)	12*
9.	CAMS	5(T) 5(VB) 2(SD)	12*
10.	Quartz Hill	5(S) 5(SD) 2(SB)	12*

^{* =} Decided by tie-breaker rules

(Sport abbreviations: BB – Baseball; BK – Basketball; CC – Cross Country; FB – Football; G – Golf; S – Soccer; SB – Softball, SD – Swimming & Diving; T – Tennis, TF – Track & Field; VB – Volleyball; WP – Water Polo; W – Wrestling; BVB – Beach Volleyball; LAX - Lacrosse)

* * *

PAST COMMISSIONER'S CUP WINNERS

YEAR	BOYS	GIRLS
1991-1992	San Marino	Peninsula
1992-1993	Esperanza	Poly/Pasadena
1993-1994	Calvary Chapel/S.A.	Newport Harbor





10932 PINE ST. LOS ALAMITOS, CA 90720 (562)493-9500

WWW.CIFSS.ORG

THOM SIMMONS

ASSISTANT COMMISSIONER THOMS@CIFSS.ORG

TAYLOR MARTINEZ

COMMUNICATIONS COORDINATOR TAYLORM@CIFSS.ORG

YEAR	BOYS	GIRLS
1994-1995	Santa Barbara	Poly/Long Beach
1995-1996	Santa Margarita	Buena
1996-1997	Santa Margarita	Woodbridge
1997-1998	Santa Margarita	Marina
1998-1999	Poly/Long Beach	Santa Margarita
1999-2000	Poly/Long Beach	Santa Margarita
2000-2001	Paso Robles	Harvard-Westlake
2001-2002	Poly/Long Beach	Harvard-Westlake
2002-2003	Loyola	Santa Margarita
2003-2004	Loyola	Corona del Mar
2004-2005	Oaks Christian	Corona del Mar
2005-2006	Oaks Christian	Corona del Mar
2006-2007	Viewpoint	Marlborough
2007-2008	Oaks Christian	Corona del Mar
2008-2009	Loyola	Corona del Mar
2009-2010	Loyola	Harvard-Westlake
2010-2011	Loyola	Oaks Christian
2011-2012	Loyola	Citrus Valley
2012-2013	Loyola	Hemet
2013-2014	Mater Dei	Santa Margarita
2014-2015	Great Oak	South Torrance
2015-2016	Loyola	Santa Margarita
2016-2017	Loyola	Santa Margarita
2017-2018	Mater Dei	Mater Dei
2018-2019	Harvard-Westlake	Santa Margarita
2019-2020	No Champions Due to COVID	
2020-2021	No Champions Due to COVID	
2021-2022	Loyola	Oaks Christian
2022-2023	JSerra	Santa Margarita
2023-2024	Notre Dame/Sherman Oaks	JSerra

-END OF PRESS RELEASE-

