
 
 

 

 

 

Memorandum 

To: NFHS Softball State Association Administrators 

From: Sandy Searcy, Director of Sports  

Subject: 2020 Rules Interpretation  
 
Date: February 17, 2020  
 

 

The NFHS has received an rules interpretation request.  The area of concern is, a pitcher using two 

revolutions during her windup but releasing the ball after the first revolution.  A video of this particular 

pitch is being shared via social media, and verbiage professes this to be a legal pitch. 

This pitch is illegal based on Rule 6-1-4e.   

ART. 4 . . . The pitcher may use any windup desired provided: 

e.  the pitcher does not continue to wind up after taking the forward step or after the ball is released. 

NOTE: Continuation of the windup is considered any action that, after the ball is released, causes the 

arm to continue to rotate past the shoulder. 

The NFHS provides this information to keep members informed of errant information that is being 

circulated.  Thank you for your attention to this matter. 

 

  


