Thom Simmons Assistant Commissioner thoms@cifss.org



Anita Fopma
Program Coordinator
anitaf@cifss.org

CALIFORNIA INTERSCHOLASTIC FEDERATION - SOUTHERN SECTION

10932 Pine St., Los Alamitos, CA 90720

(562) 493-9500

(562) 493-6266 - Fax

www.cifss.org











PRESS RELEASE #32 - **REVISED** FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE EMAILED P.M. JUNE 25, 2019 CONTACT: THOM SIMMONS

MEDIA RELEASE

HARVARD WESTLAKE AND SANTA MARGARITA CLAIM TITLES IN 28TH ANNUAL CIF-SS COMMISSIONER'S CUP

*REVISED TO INCLUDE CORRECTIONS ON POINT TOTALS FOR SANTA MARGARITA BOYS AND GIRLS.

LOS ALAMITOS -- The CIF Southern Section is pleased to announce the top girl's and boy's athletic programs in the 28th Annual CIF Southern Section Commissioner's Cup.

On the girl's side, Santa Margarita took top honors by scoring 19 points in the manner of three championships. Santa Margarita Finished the year with championship titles in the sports of swimming and diving, water polo and track and field.

Eleanor Roosevelt took 2nd place with 14 points in the manner of two championships. Eleanor Roosevelt finished the year with championship titles in the sports of track and field and water polo.

On the boy's side, Harvard Westlake took home 1st place with a point total of 20. Harvard-Westlake won two championship titles in water polo and track and field and also two runners-up finishes in both baseball and tennis.

Mater Dei claimed 2nd place with a point total of 17. Mater Dei finished the year with a championship title in football and had three runner up finishes in the sports of track and field, tennis and golf.

The CIF-SS developed this recognition program based upon comprehensive excellence in interscholastic competition. The Purpose of this program is to enhance the spirit of competition, sportsmanship, and goodwill among student athletes and member schools.

The winners are determined by a point system that provides: five points for a divisional championship; three points for a divisional runner up; two points for advancing to the semifinal round or third place finish in a team-place sport (i.e. cross country, golf, swimming and diving, track and field); and one point finish in a team place sport. In cases where a tie occurs the top ten schools were determined by several tiebreaker methods.

"We applaud the accomplishments of these programs due to their hard work and dedication that has resulted in their success," said Rob Wigod, Commissioner of Athletics.

2018-19 CIF SOUTHERN SECTION COMMISSIONER'S CUP

BOYS

<u>PL</u>	<u>SCHOOL</u>	POINT ACCUMULATION	PTS
1.	Harvard Westlake	3(BB) 2(BK) 3(T) 5(WP) 5(TF) 2(SW)	20
2.	Mater Dei	5(FB) 1(BK) 3(G) 2(S) 3(T) 3(TF)	17
3.	Servite	5(WP) 5(W) 5(G)	15
4.	Great Oak	5(BB) 2(TF) 2(G) 5(CC)	14
5.	Santa Margarita	5(BB) 5(BK) 3(SD)	13
6.	Palos Verdes	3(F) 2(BK) 2(G) 5(CC)	12
7.	Newport Harbor	2(CC) 1(G) 5(VB) 3(WP)	11
8.	Oaks Christian	2(FB) 1(G) 5(TF) 2(WP)	10**
9T.	Loyola	5(SD) 2(CC) 1(G) 2(WP)	10**
9T.	Sierra Canyon	5(F) 5(BK)	10**
9T.	University	5(T) 5(G)	10**

GIRLS

<u>PL</u>	<u>SCHOOL</u>	POINT ACCUMULATION	<u>PTS</u>
1.	Santa Margarita	2(BK) 2(G) 5(SD) 5(WP) 5(TF)	19
2.	Eleanor Roosevelt	5(TF) 2(BK) 2(SB) 5(WP)	14
3.	Oaks Christian	5(TF) 2(G) 5(WP)	12
4T.	Laguna Beach	3(T) 3(VB) 5(WP)	11**
4T.	Mira Costa	3(S) 5(T) 3(WP)	11**
4T.	Great Oak	5(CC) 3(G) 3(SB)	11**
7T.	Harvard Westlake	5(T) 3(CC) 2(S)	10**
7T.	Maranatha	2(BK) 3(SD) 5(T)	10**
9.	Linfield Christian	5(BK) 5(VB)	10*
10.	South Hills	5(S) 5(SD)	10*

^{* =} Decided by tie-breaker rules. ** = All tie breakers exhausted

(Sport abbreviations: BB- Baseball; BK- Basketball; CC- Cross-Country; FB- Football; G-Golf; S-Soccer; SB-Softball; SD- Swimming and Diving; T- Tennis; TF- Track and Field; VB- Volleyball; WP- Water Polo; W- Wrestling)

PAST COMMISSIONERS CUP WINNERS

<u>YEAR</u>	BOYS	<u>GIRLS</u>
1991-1992	San Marino	Peninsula
1992-1993	Esperanza	Poly/Pasadena
1993-1994	Calvary Chapel/S.A.	Newport Harbor
1994-1995	Santa Barbara	Poly/Long Beach
1995-1996	Santa Margarita	Buena
1996-1997	Santa Margarita	Woodbridge
1997-1998	Santa Margarita	Marina
1998-1999	Poly/Long Beach	Santa Margarita
1999-2000	Poly/Long Beach	Santa Margarita
2000-2001	Paso Robles	Harvard-Westlake

-MORE-

PR #32 3-3-3

PAST COMMISSIONERS CUP WINNERS (Cont.):

<u>YEAR</u>	<u>BOYS</u>	<u>GIRLS</u>
2001-2002	Poly/Long Beach	Harvard-Westlake
2002-2003	Loyola	Santa Margarita
2003-2004	Loyola	Corona del Mar
2004-2005	Oaks Christian	Corona del Mar
2005-2006	Oaks Christian	Corona del Mar
2006-2007	Viewpoint	Marlborough
2007-2008	Oaks Christian	Corona del Mar
2008-2009	Loyola	Corona del Mar
2009-2010	Loyola	Harvard-Westlake
2010-2011	Loyola	Oaks Christian
2011-2012	Loyola	Citrus Valley
2012-2013	Loyola	Hemet
2013-2014	Mater Dei	Santa Margarita
2014-2015	Great Oak	South Torrance
2015-2016	Loyola	Santa Margarita
2016-2017	Loyola	Santa Margarita
2017-2018	Mater Dei	Mater Dei
2018-2019	Harvard-Westlake	Santa Margarita