Thom Simmons Assistant Commissioner thoms@cifss.org



Anita Fopma
Program Coordinator
anitaf@cifss.org

CALIFORNIA INTERSCHOLASTIC FEDERATION - SOUTHERN SECTION

10932 Pine St., Los Alamitos, CA 90720

(562) 493-9500

(562) 493-6266 - Fax

www.cifss.org











PRESS RELEASE #34 - **SECOND REVISION**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TELEFAXED/EMAILED P.M. JULY 25, 2018 CONTACT: THOM SIMMONS

MEDIA RELEASE

MATER DEI CLAIMS BOTH BOY'S AND GIRL'S CIF-SS COMMISSIONER CUP'S TITLES

*REVISED TO INCLUDE FOOTHILL TECHNOLOGY FROM TOP-10 LIST IN BOYS/GIRLS.

LOS ALAMITOS – The CIF Southern Section is pleased to announce the top girl's and boy's athletic programs in the 27th Annual Commissioner's Cup.

On the girl's side, Mater Dei took top honors by scoring 16 points in the manner of two championships. The Monarchs finished the year with a championship title in the sports of track and field and volleyball. This is Mater Dei's first Commissioner' Cup title for the girls.

Santa Margarita took 2nd place while scoring 15 points. The Eagles claimed championships in track and field and swimming and diving, including a second-place finish in soccer and third-place finish in water polo. Culver City took 3rd place recording 14 points. The Centaurs claimed two championships in the sports of water polo and volleyball along with third-place finishes in softball and basketball.

On the boy's side, Mater Dei claimed its second Commissioner's Cup title in a tie breaker recording 18 points. The Monarchs won three championships in the sports of football, basketball and water polo.

Tying with Mater Dei, Oaks Christian also recorded 18 points. The Lions won championships in the sports of golf, football and track and field along with a second-place finish in water polo. Downey took 3rd place recording 14 points. The Vikings claimed one championship in volleyball along with three second-place finishes in the sports of football, swimming and diving and wrestling.

The CIF-SS developed this recognition program based upon comprehensive excellence in interscholastic competition. The purpose of this program to enhance the spirit of competition, sportsmanship, and goodwill among student athletes and member schools.

The winners are determined by a point system that provides: five points for a divisional championship; three points for a divisional runner-up finish; two points for advancing to the semifinal round or third place finish in a team-place finish sport (i.e. cross country, golf, swimming and diving, track and field); and one point for a fourth-place finish in a team-place finish sport. In cases where a tie occurs the top ten schools were determined by several tiebreaker methods.

"We applaud the accomplishments of these programs due to their hard work and dedication that has resulted in their success," said Rob Wigod, Commissioner of Athletics.

2017-18 CIF SOUTHERN SECTION COMMISSIONER'S CUP

DUI.	OYS
------	-----

<u>PL</u>	<u>SCHOOL</u>	POINT ACCUMULATION	<u>PTS</u>
1.	Mater Dei	5(FB), 5(WP), 5(BK), 2(TF), 1(G)	18*
2.	Oaks Christian	5(G), 5(FB), 5(TF), 3(WP)	18*
3.	Downey	5(VB), 3(FB), 3(SD), 3(W)	14
4.	Corona Del Mar	5(G), 5(VB), 3(WP)	13*
5.	Great Oak	5(XC), 5(TF), 3(T)	13*
6.	Foothill/Santa Ana	5(WP), 5(SD), 3(BB)	13*
7.	Loyola	3(G), 3(SD), 2(S), 2(VB), 1(XC)	11*
8.	Harvard Westlake	5(T), 5(TF), 1(WP)	11*
9.	St. John Bosco	5(WR), 3(FB), 1(TF)	9*
10T.	Murrieta Mesa	5(TF), 2(FB), 2(BK)	9**
10T.	Foothill Technology	3(BK); 2(XC); 2(S); 2(TF)	9**
		GIRLS	

<u>GIRLS</u>

<u>PL</u>	<u>SCHOOL</u>	POINT ACCUMULATION	<u>PTS</u>
1.	Mater Dei	5(TF), 5(VB), 3(G), 2(WP), 1(BK)	16
2.	Santa Margarita	5(TF), 5(SD), 3(S), 2(WP)	15
3.	Culver City	5(WP), 5(VB), 2(SB), 2(BK)	14
4.	Flintridge Prep	5(XC), 5(S), 3(BK)	13
5.	Foothill Technology	5(XC); 3(VB); 3(BK)	11
6.	West Torrance	5(BK), 5(SB)	10*
7T.	Great Oak	5(XC), 5(TF)	10**
7T.	Serra	5(TF), 5(SB)	10**
9.	Downey	3(SD), 3(BK), 3(WP)	9
10T.	Chaminade	5(SB), 3(BK)	8**
10T.	University	5(G), 3(T)	8**

^{*=}Decided by tie-breaker rules. **=All tie breakers exhausted.

(Sports abbreviations: BB – Baseball; BK – Basketball; FB – Football; G – Golf; S – Soccer; SB – Softball; SD – Swimming/Diving; T – Tennis; TF – Track and Field; VB – Volleyball; WP – Water Polo; WR – Wrestling)

PAST COMMISSIONERS CUP WINNERS

<u>YEAR</u>	<u>BOYS</u>	<u>GIRLS</u>
1991-1992	San Marino	Peninsula
1992-1993	Esperanza	Poly/Pasadena
1993-1994	Calvary Chapel/S.A.	Newport Harbor
1994-1995	Santa Barbara	Poly/Long Beach
1995-1996	Santa Margarita	Buena
1996-1997	Santa Margarita	Woodbridge
1997-1998	Santa Margarita	Marina

-MORE-

^{* =} Decided by tie-breaker rules. ** = All tie breakers exhausted

PR #34 3-3-3

PAST COMMISSIONERS CUP WINNERS (Cont.):

<u>YEAR</u>	<u>BOYS</u>	<u>GIRLS</u>
1998-1999	Poly/Long Beach	Santa Margarita
1999-2000	Poly/Long Beach	Santa Margarita
2000-2001	Paso Robles	Harvard-Westlake
2001-2002	Poly/Long Beach	Harvard-Westlake
2002-2003	Loyola	Santa Margarita
2003-2004	Loyola	Corona del Mar
2004-2005	Oaks Christian	Corona del Mar
2005-2006	Oaks Christian	Corona del Mar
2006-2007	Viewpoint	Marlborough
2007-2008	Oaks Christian	Corona del Mar
2008-2009	Loyola	Corona del Mar
2009-2010	Loyola	Harvard-Westlake
2010-2011	Loyola	Oaks Christian
2011-2012	Loyola	Citrus Valley
2012-2013	Loyola	Hemet
2013-2014	Mater Dei	Santa Margarita
2014-2015	Great Oak	South Torrance
2015-2016	Loyola	Santa Margarita
2016-2017	Loyola	Santa Margarita
2017-2018	Mater Dei	Mater Dei