

<u>HISTORY OF THE CALIFORNIA</u> INTERSCHOLASTIC FEDERATION <u>CIF-SOUTHERN SECTION</u>



99th historical "tidbit." Dr. John S. Dahlem

<u>HARRY J. MOORE PERPUTUAL CIF TROPHY</u> <u>Presented to the CIF-SS Football Champion – 1960 to 1976</u>

LONG BEACH POLY HS DONATES NEW PERPETUAL TROPHY TO BE AWARDED TO THE CIF, SOUTHERN SECTION FOOTBALL CHAMPIONS



Through the courtesy of Long Beach Poly HS and the hard work of its capable and popular principal, Mr. Neil W. Philips, a beautiful new trophy has been donated as a perpetual award to be presented annually to the school winning the CIF, SS football championship. This award will be known as the "Harry J. Moore Trophy" in honor of the man who is affectionately known in California as "Mr.C.I.F." and who recently retired from his position as Assistant Superintendent of the Long Beach Unified School District.

Onlined School District. This year the trophy will be shared by San Diego and Long Beach Poly High Schools, who were the champions of the Southern and Northern section respectively of the CIF playoffs. Each school will have the privilege of displaying the trophy in its school for one semester. It is hoped that next year the present Northern and Southern sections of the playoffs can be combined so that only one large school champion will emerge from the playoffs. This would mean that the trophy would not have to be shared but would go annually to the school recognized as the CIF, Southern Section football champion. The names of the schools winning this honor since the first year of the playoffs in 1916 will be inscribed on the trophy.

(CIF-SS Monthly "Bulletin – January, 1960

We would like to reproduce a letter received in the CIF, SS Office from Mr. Philips in which he officially notified us of the trophy and so aptly stated the reasons why the student body of Long Beach Poly HS decided to make available this beautiful trophy:

"Dear Mr. Fagans:

"Poly High School wishes to thank the Council and its Executive Committee for the opportunity to present a perpetual trophy which recognizes the champions of C.I.F. Southern Section "AAA" football.

"In providing the 'Harry J. Moore C.I.F. Perpetual Trophy', Long Beach Polytechnic High School has sought to honor one of the great men in interscholastic sports and a founder of C.I.F.

"Through this presentation the student body also wishes to express its appreciation for the help and guidance the C.I.F. has given our school over the past forty-five years. We feel that under the C.I.F. code of clean and sportsmanlike competition an exceptional educational opportunity has been provided our young men. In fair-play and teamwork each participant has been taught characteristic essentials to success and good citizenship.

Cordially, (signed) Neil W. Philips Principal"



Harry J. Moore Presents Coach Dave Levy of the Championship Long Beach Poly Football Team, the Harry J. Moore Trophy

1961 - Redlands High School C. I. F., SOUTHERN SECTION MONTHEY BUELETIN Vol. 25 JANUARY, 1962 No. 3



TO THE VICTOR — Head Coach Frank Serrao of Redlands HS has both hands on handsome CIF, SS trophy. Asst. Coach Paul Womack (left) and Co-Capt. Bob Campbell (8b) hold other awards. Line Coach Bob Earp is directly behind large trophy, Principal Robert Campbell is next and Commissioner Ken Fagans is at right.

<u> 1962 – Loyola High School</u>



TO THE VICTORS—Head Coach Lew Stueck of Loyola HS is about to receive the Harry J. Moore trophy, emblematic of the CIF, SS football championship, from Erroy Hirsch, framous collegiate and pro All-American. Looking on is a smilling Commissioner, Ken Fagans, and a happy group of Loyola players.

<u> 1963 – Loyola High School</u>

LOYOLA WINS SECOND STRAIGHT "AAAA" CIF CROWN; TOPS EL RANCHO 21-0



ICTORY CELEBRATION—Commissioner of Athletics J. Kenneth Fagans (center) and Stanford orbail ceach Jahn Raitan (right) present the CIF, SS, championship trophy to Rax, E. J. Erdadden after Loyola won its second straight "AAAA" championship over El Rancho, 21-0, end ceach Mario Di Muro (second from left) and assistant ceach Bill Lenihan display other ophies accorded the champs.

<u> 1964 – Whittier High School</u>

HITTIER STOPS LOYOLA STREAK, WINS CIF TITLE, 21-14



<u> 1965 – Mater Dei High School</u>

MATER DEI WINS CIF "AAAA" FOOTBALL CROWN WITH 21-0 SHUTOUT OVER CENTENNIAL



DAMPONDUP PRENTATION-Mater De Help Schal featball planers getter monst their welv scopied CF designment terps, which is a schalar sch

<u> 1966 – El Rancho High School</u>

L RANCHO "DONS" CAPTURE CIF "AAAA" GRID CROWN; OPE STARS IN 35-14 WIN OVER ANAHEIM "COLONISTS"



CHAMPIONSHIP PRESENTATION — El Rancho High co-captains Jim Callings (88) and Rick Pape (10) display their newly acquired CIF Clampionship trophy affer the Dons downed Asabeim, 35-14, for the CIF crown on December 16. Dave Patterion (81), Ed Perez (84) and Ross Coy (77) are other Dons identifiable. Head coach Ernie Johnson

stands at the left with the Herald-Examiner trophy with actor Budo Ebsen, El Rancho Principal Gene Kreyche and CIF Commissioner Ke Fagans are at the right. Ebsen, star of the "Beverly Hillbillies" TV serie presented the awards.

<u> 1967 – Anaheim High School</u>



<u> 1968 – El Rancho & St. Paul</u>





1970 – Bishop Amat High School



Coach John Ralston of Stanford University presents Harry J. Moore Trophy to Bishop Amat star quarterback and co-captain Pat Haden during postgame ceremonies.

<u> 1971 – Bishop Amat High School</u>

<u> 1969 – BlairHigh School</u>





Amat Retains Harry S. Moore Trophy

<u> 1972 – St. Paul High School</u>

<u> 1975 – Loyola High School</u>



T. PAUL'S AAAA DIVISION FOOTBALL CHAMPIONS







LOS ALTOS FOOTBALL CHAMPIONS - Posed with four trophies associated with the CIF-SS 4A Football Championship is the 1973 Los Altos HS Squad flanked in the front row by Prinipal Patrick J. Mauch (left) and Casch Dwayne DeSpain (right). Quad-Captains are #51 Mark Richieh (G), #22 Binky Benton (HB), #10 Dennis Sproul (QB), and #20 Mike Hill (HB).



<u> 1976 - Los Altos High School</u>

<u> 1974 – South Hills High School</u>





4A DIVISION: Los Altos celebrates at Anaheim Stadium

The Harry J. Moore Trophy was last presented in 1976 to Los Altos High School. The next year the CIF-SS went to a Conference/Divisional format. The trophy remained at Los Altos High School and was transferred to the CIF-SS office in 2014 to help celebrate the 100th Anniversary of CIF-SS in 2013.



Los Altos High School – Main Office Trophy Case

San Diego High School won the Southern Division of the 1959 CIF-SS Football Championship the first year the Moore Trophy was awarded (Long Beach Poly won the Northern Division). It was the first time the CIF-SS Large Schools Football Championship had been divided into two divisions due to number of play-off schools and distance traveled. The next year, 1960, the San Diego Section was formed. The below photos, courtesy of San Diego Sports Historian Rick Smith, are from the San Diego High School 1960 yearbook showing student leader Carol Ortman and football coach Maley with the Harry J. Moore Trophy



Carol Ortman



Coach Maley and his final triumph, the S.C.I.F. Championship.